St John the Baptist (Waitara) St Andrew's Church (Stratford)  St John the Evangelist St Mark's Church (Lepperton) Opunake Methodist Church Purangi Church - 1973 St Barnabas' Church St Andrew's Church (Opunake) c1917 The Taranaki Cathedral Church of St Mary  

                        Rahotu Methodist Church c1950s  St Stephen's Church  St Joseph's Catholic Church of Waitara   St Aubyn Methodist Church Knox Church/Lifegate Apostolic (Inglewood)  Gospel Hall (Stratford) Church of the Immaculate Conception St Philomena's Church Whiteley Memorial Methodist Church

                                            Taranaki Churches .

This basket provides information and images of the many churches that are found in Taranaki. While some have remained unchanged for many years, others have been significantlly altered. There are also those that have been moved onto new sites or in some cases demolished.

For any further information please contact staff at the Taranaki Research Centre in Puke Arki.

Latest 5 topics

Alton All Saints Church.

Alton All Saints Church 

The plans for this Anglican church in Alton were prepared in 1936 by the Hāwera architects Rough & Duffill. The land the church stands on had been donated in 1920 by Charles and Susan (nee Tagg) Amos on their departure from Alton.  

However, it was to be another 17 years (and 33 years since the gift of the land) before the church finally opened on 21 July 1953. Rev J.Jones was the Vicar and the dedication by Archdeacon Young. It was officially consecrated four months later on 29 November 1953 by

Mary Chapel 2017.

Mary Chapel 2017

2017 View: By Hamish Crimp

The Frankleigh Park Settler's Association was formed in August 1911, and one of their first tasks was to organise a Sunday School, in connection with the Whiteley Church, for the local children. A committee was set up to find a plot of land and have a building constructed for the Sunday School; in the meantime, the Sunday School was held in a room at local resident Mrs J. Roch's house. The commitee purchased

St Luke's Methodist Church (Westown).

St Luke's Methodist Church (Westown) 

The foundation stone for this Methodist church on the corner of Tukapa and David Streets was laid on 27 May, 1961. St Luke's was opened and dedicated by the Rev. Dr. J.J. Lewis on 30 September, 1961.

The corner section had been purchased in 1923 for £145. Later the same year, the local Methodist community were offered the Korito Church building in Kent Road. This was bought for £350 and a permit for its removal and erection in Westown was issued by the New Plymouth Borough Council on 25 October, 1924. Boon

St Patrick's Church 1993.

St Patrick's Church 1993 

The present St Joseph's Church in Hawera was opened by the Bishop of Palmerston North, the Most Reverend Peter Cullinane, on 19 December 1993.

The architect was Bruce Dickson and the project cost about $1.3 million.

St Joseph's Church 1928 (Hawera).

St Joseph's Church 1928 (Hawera) 

This church replaced the 1887 building and was designed by the well-known architect Frederick de Jersey Clere. The builder was J T Julian and Son (Manager F W Whitaker).

The foundation stone for the large church was laid on 18 March 1928 and it opened later that year on 9 December. The total cost was about £22,000.

By the 1960s shortcomings in the building were proving a liability for the local congregation. Repairs to the masonry and the complete replacement of the leaking windows cost £20,000.

In 1984

Contents by type

Random Image from the Archive

Cnr Gill and Liardet Streets 2016.

Blank Play/Pause Slideshow. Next Image.