Welcome to Kete New Plymouth - Taranaki's online digital archive of current and historical local events, people, places and experiences.

The Kete is a place for people to share and discover stories, images, video and audio relating to life in Taranaki. We invite members of the community to register and contribute their own experiences to our ever-expanding basket of knowledge; ensuring that this information is retained for all New Zealanders, now and in the future. 

You can find links to some of our most popular baskets below, or explore all baskets

 

98 Pendarves Street 2017

New Plymouth Buildings

 

  

Cutfield Road 

Taranaki Street Names

 

 

Alpha Flourmill Stones

Heritage Sites and Features 

Ararata Hall - 1910

Taranaki Halls


N P Cenotaph

Taranaki War Memorials WWI and WWII

 

Rowe, Henry

Plymouth Company Settlers


Waitara Post Office

Waitara Buildings

 

Cutis' Building

Inglewood Buildings

 

 Ngaere Co-op Dairy Factory

Taranaki Dairy Factories

 

 

Whangamomona Road Tunnel #1 - Northern Portal

Taranaki Tunnels


1 Ngatoki Street 2017

Urenui Buildings

St John the Evangelist

Taranaki Churches

 

1671 South Road Open2View

Oakura Buildings


 

NZ Wars Memorial

War Memorials of the  Taranaki Wars

Te Henui, New Walkway bridges

Friends of Te Henui

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Discover more Taranaki treasures in Puke Ariki's Heritage Collection:

     Puke Ariki Logo 

 

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions regarding the Kete, or would like to discuss an idea to enrich this archive - we look forward to hearing from you. 


Latest 5 topics

Club Hotel .

Club Hotel 

The Club Hotel in Opunake (cnr Tasman and Havelock Street) was built in 1914 for Mr A.E.Brunette. The architect was Mr J.A.Duffill and the contractor was Mr E.W.Good. The electric lighting was installed by Mr W.B.Carrick of Hawera. (for a description of the building see attached web link 'New Club Hotel')

The new hotel replaced Middleton's Hotel, which burnt down in "The Great Fire" fire of 1913. The fire was thought to have started in the hotel laundry and quickly spread to neighbouring buildings. Many shops and business premises at the northern end of town

Waitara Police Station (Former) 2019.

Waitara Police Station (Former) 2019

2019 View: By Hamish Crimp

This building was constructed about 1940 as the Waitara Police Station - It served this purpose until the 1980s when the property was sold.

This property was purchased by the Police Department from W. Wilkes in December 1910; at the time of purchase there was a large villa residence on the property which was retained.

During 1911 alterations were made to the villa residence, with a new lock-up (now

7 Warre Street 2019.

7 Warre Street 2019

2019 View: By Hamish Crimp

The exact construction date of this house is unclear, although it was in existence on this site by at least 1895, with the house present in a photograph taken that year (Puke Ariki C.3.11).

The house has been substantially modified, with the exterior now plastered, the veranda enclosed, and original windows replaced with aluminium. 

See: CT TN2/41

Mangaoraka Stream Bridge 2019 (1).

Mangaoraka Stream Bridge 2019 (1)

2019 View: By Hamish Crimp

This single-lane reinforced concrete bridge was erected during 1911 for the Taranaki County Council on the main road south between New Plymouth and Inglewood. 

Tenders for construction of the bridge were initially advertised during January 1911 by engineers Orbell & Mackay, however, as only one tender, being very much in excess of the engineer's estimate, was received, it was decided to call for fresh tenders the following month. 

The

Egmont A & P Association Building.

Egmont A & P Association Building 

This single storey brick building was erected in 1923 by the firm Hobbs & Baker. The Hawera & Normanby Star reported (30 October 1922) on a general meeting of the Egmont A & P Assn. where it was decided not to engage the architects Duffill & Gibson, but instead to accept the tender (£1797) of Messrs Hobbs & Baker for the construction of the building.  

In 1994 the building was demolished to make way for a supermarket. However the

Baskets  

Community baskets

Puke Ariki Baskets

Administration


Useful Links


Register now and help build our digital archive.

Contents by type

Random Image from the Archive

Hibiscus richardsonii, Puarangi, Native hibiscus, New Zealand hibiscus.

Blank Play/Pause Slideshow. Next Image.