Welcome to Kete New Plymouth - Taranaki's online digital archive of current and historical local events, people, places and experiences.

The Kete is a place for people to share and discover stories, images, video and audio relating to life in Taranaki. We invite members of the community to register and contribute their own experiences to our ever-expanding basket of knowledge; ensuring that this information is retained for all New Zealanders, now and in the future. 

You can find links to some of our most popular baskets below, or explore all baskets

 

98 Pendarves Street 2017

New Plymouth Buildings

 

  

Cutfield Road 

Taranaki Street Names

 

 

Alpha Flourmill Stones

Heritage Sites and Features 

Ararata Hall - 1910

Taranaki Halls


N P Cenotaph

Taranaki War Memorials WWI and WWII

 

Rowe, Henry

Plymouth Company Settlers


Waitara Post Office

Waitara Buildings

 

Cutis' Building

Inglewood Buildings

 

 Ngaere Co-op Dairy Factory

Taranaki Dairy Factories

 

 

Whangamomona Road Tunnel #1 - Northern Portal

Taranaki Tunnels


1 Ngatoki Street 2017

Urenui Buildings

St John the Evangelist

Taranaki Churches

 

1671 South Road Open2View

Oakura Buildings


 

NZ Wars Memorial

War Memorials of the  Taranaki Wars

Te Henui, New Walkway bridges

Friends of Te Henui

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Discover more Taranaki treasures in Puke Ariki's Heritage Collection:

     Puke Ariki Logo 

 

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions regarding the Kete, or would like to discuss an idea to enrich this archive - we look forward to hearing from you. 


Latest 5 topics

Joll's Boarding House Detail Circa 1890s.

Joll's Boarding House Detail Circa 1890s

Detail from circa 1890s view of Waitara

The northern portion of this two-storied building was constructed in 1882 as an addition to Samuel Joll's butchery shop (constructed sometime in the late 1870s or early 1880s) - it was later used as a boarding house. 

The architect for the additions was Ed Wickham and the builder a man named 'Wilson' - the construction cost was £390.

The building survived on this site until 1920

4 Browne Street Waitara Mortgagee Sale TH 4 November 1882 page 3.

This single storey timber house was very likely constructed in 1882 by/for Thomas Rowe. 

Soon after construction Thomas encountered financial difficulties and the house was advertised for sale by auction by 'order of the mortgagees'. 

An advertisement in the Taranaki Herald described the house as: "Section 7, Block 104, Raleigh West, with new Villa Residence, late the property of Mr. Thomas Rowe, and being one of the best buildings in Waitara".

The house is a very early example of a Waitara 'villa', with the high stud and placement perpendicular to Browne Street (facing north) being key

Doone Street.

Doone Street

With the majority of early English settlers to New Plymouth hailing from Cornwall and Devon, their descendants often looked to those regions when naming roads in the city later on. Doone Street in Lynmouth was inspired by the heroine of the celebrated Victorian novel Lorna Doone, set in Devonshire.

Written by Richard Doddridge Blackmore in 1869, Lorna Doone is an historical romance about farmer John Ridd and his love for the beautiful Lorna. Blackmore (1825-1900) was not born in Devon but often described himself as a Devonian after a childhood spent

This attractive bungalow residence was constructed for plasterer George Knight in 1924 - it was originally located at 269 Courtenay Street and relocated to its present site in 1971.

A permit for the construction of a house on Town Section 2058 Courtenay Street, was granted to George Knight by the New Plymouth Borough Council on August 20th 1924 - Jones and Sandford were listed as the builders and the estimated construction cost was £1500. It seems likely George completed the exterior stucco plastering himself.

George Knight is listed as residing in the house until the early 1940s,

Culzean Castle.

Culzean Grove runs off Glamis Avenue in Bell Block and was named after an opulent castle in Scotland.

In 1975 the Totara Park Development Company created a subdivision in the area called Kingsdown with the slogan “Not just a place to live, but a way of life”. The company was a subsidiary of M.S.D. Speirs, now known as the Speirs Group, who had pioneered fast food restaurants in New Zealand with their Big Tex chain.

The name Kingsdown was chosen to incorporate that of prominent local family the Kings, who had previously owned the land. In keeping with the royal

Baskets  

Community baskets

Puke Ariki Baskets

Administration


Useful Links


Register now and help build our digital archive.

Contents by type

Random Image from the Archive

 Oudemansiella apalosarca (Porcelain Slimecap) was called Oudemansiella australis.

Blank Play/Pause Slideshow. Next Image.